Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MX2 rider Jago Geerts finished fourth in his third and final preseason race in Lacapelle-Marival. His teammate Ben Watson didn’t race in France because of a hand injury.

Ben Watson decided not to start in Lacapelle-Marival. The Brit’s hand injury is healing well, but he didn’t want to take any risks with the World Championship MX2 starting in only two weeks’ time. 

Jago Geerts was the sole Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MX2 rider behind the gate in Lacapelle-Marival. The teenager took a good start in the first race, right behind Vialle and Hofer. Geerts tried to attack the second place a few times, but suffered arm pump at the end of the race and needed to slow down a bit, which allowed Beaton to take over third place.

Geerts took the holeshot on his YZ250FM in the second race of the day, but couldn’t prevent Vialle taking over the lead. Three laps long, the Belgian was in a fight with the Frenchman. Unfortunately, Geerts made a small mistake, went down en dropped to sixth place. Eventually he managed, to finish fourth.

The Belgian took another great start in the Superfinal, together with the best MXGP riders, as he was sixth in the first corner. Logically, Geerts wasn’t able to fight against the more powerful 450 bikes and lost some places, finishing in tenth place as a second best MX2 rider.

Geerts can look back on a decent preparation with a victory in Riola Sardo and two decent races in Hawkstone Park and Lacapelle-Marival.

#193 Jago Geerts

4th overall

“I’m quite happy with my results today. Without my arm pump they even could have been a bit better. In the Superfinal I decided to ride safe because the track was very sketchy. I’m the most happy with my starts. They are a lot better than last season. My preseason races were pretty good. I can’t wait the World Championship to start.”


MX2 race 1

1. Tom Vialle (Fra/KTM)

2. Rene Hofer (Aut/KTM)

3. Jed Beaton (Aus/Hus)

4. JAGO GEERTS (Bel/Yam)

5. Mathias Talviku (Est/Hus)

MX2 race 2

1. Tom Vialle (Fra/KTM)

2. Jed Beaton (Aus/Hus)

3. Nathan Crawford (Aus/Hon)

4. JAGO GEERTS (Bel/Yam)

5. Rene Hofer (Aut/KTM)

MX2 overall

1. Tom Vialle (Fra/KTM) 50

2. Jed Beaton (Aus/Hus) 42

3. Rene Hofer (Aut/KTM) 38

4. JAGO GEERTS (Bel/Yam) 36

5. Nathan Crawford (Aus/Hon) 34


1. Jeffrey Herlings (Ned/KTM)

2. Romain Febvre (Fra/Kaw)

3. Gautier Paulin (Fra/Yam)

4. Clement Desalle (Bel/Kaw)

5. Jeremy Seewer (Swi/Yam)

10. JAGO GEERTS (Bel/Yam)

Next race: March 1, GP1 Matterley Basin (GBr)

Images by Photographic Art